top of page
Search
  • twinstitchesdesign

My Top 5 Knit Picks Sock Yarns

Updated: Jul 10, 2020

Knit Picks is an amazing commercial yarn company and they have a HUGE selection of yarns. It can sometimes be hard to choose which one is the right one for you. This post I'm taking you through my top 5 sock yarns from Knit Picks. I've used their yarns for years and I find their quality is just incredible.


I've gifted some to my family, my husband, and knit some pairs for myself. They continue to be one of my go-to commercial sock yarns. I love using both hand-dyed and commercial yarn. I love gifting commercial yarn since they tend to wear longer and the recipient doesn't have to be as delicate with the finished object.







This is the softest yarn I've ever knit with! I used this for a pair of socks for my husband a few years ago in the colorway Nothern Lights. It's still in great condition and he wears them constantly. They are easy and a joy to knit with because they were so soft. Now I will admit I was skeptical of how durable they would be since they were so soft. But you guys, let me tell you they hold up amazingly. Want to know a secret? I put these both in the washer AND the dryer! They aren't self-striping but they have some micro striping. It creates this very fun and cute pattern. I think they are great for just plain vanilla socks.





I couldn't have the list of my top 5 without Knit Picks Stroll Tweed. This yarn feels like a cloud. I LOVE tweed yarns, and this one is the best I've found (hand-dyed included). The tonal colors in this yarn line are gorgeous. I've knit a sweater out of this yarn and WOW I live in it. It's hands down the most comfortable sweater I've made up to date.




Knit Picks Stroll is the same softness as the Stroll Tweed, but without the tweed flecks. You can either use it on its own or pair it with any of the Knit Picks sock yarns for the amazing heel's, toes and cuffs. I think these stroll colors are a must-have in your stash for anything you're knitting. I've used it for sweaters, socks, and hats. It's just the perfect soft tonal fingering weight yarn.



Knit Picks Static is a new to me yarn that I am now head over heels about. It has the softness of the stroll but with amazing self-patterning yarns. I've just finished knitting a pair of socks for my husband out of this base and I'm about to start a pair of socks for myself. I ordered almost every single colorway since I'm slightly obsessed with it!


I also love that a lot of the colorways in this range are very unisex. It can be knit for anyone in mind. I sometimes find it's harder to find "more manly colors" in sock yarn. Knit Picks has once again hit this one out of the park! If you don't own any of these yet run don't walk since they are a limited edition yarn.






This list would not be complete without some speckled yarns. I love how these two ranges really play well with each other. You can mix and match to make the perfect project. They are very sturdy and durable. I've knit myself a sweater out of the Kettle Dye, you can see a link to my project here and I've knit myself some socks out of the hand speckled (you can see a link to my project here). Both projects still look amazing after years of wearing. I would highly recommend this sock yarn to anyone.


Hawthorne base for Knit Picks is very versatile, you won't go wrong having any of these in your stash since they can be used for any projects.





If you're looking for a more luxurious yarn and want that extra feel of cashmere, this is the yarn for you! Capretta has 10% Cashmere in the blend making it extra soft and extra luxurious. The colors are all beautiful and tonal. I also love how this yarn does not need to be caked up, it's ready to be knit from the ball.


I would use this yarn for any project, sweaters, socks, hats, or baby items. It's the perfect yarn to have in your stash for that special project. I just finished a pair of socks with this yarn and it was SO SOFT to knit with.



Do you have a favorite yarn out of these? Which ones do want to try? Let me know below.


Don’t forget to pin this post for later! If you need pattern ideas, be sure to check out my patterns on Ravelry, be sure to subscribe my email list to be the first to know about new patterns!

362 views48 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page